On SEO Rockstar-dom

A little bit ago I was looking at something pointed out to me by NJ SEO pal, Streko, when I saw this advertisement via the Google Adwords:

Need an SEO Rockstar?
Hire Certified SEO Gurus $10-50/hr.
Interview SEO Experts for Free Now!
http://www.oDesk.com

Hmmm, I thought. If you’re an SEO Rockstar, do you really need to advertise? Furthermore, if you were a bonafide SEO Rockstar, why in the hell would you work for so fucking cheap? Seriously, $10-50 an hour? That’s nothing! Shit, I’m a fucking hack and I’d charge a helluva’ lot more than that!

Since these folks advertise themselves as SEO Rockstars and certified gurus, I took a peak at their corrall of hot talent. Hell, if they’re Rockstars, surely there’d be a name in there I’d recognize. Were there. Oh hell no. Not a single one. Maybe it’s because I don’t get out much, or maybe they are big in their hometowns. Like that one guy from India? He’s probably big pimpin’. And the Egyptian? I bet he gets a ton of Egyptian SEO Rockstar groupie tail. I’m just saying.

Back to the prices, I’m looking through them and it’s crazy. There’s an SEO/copywriter selling her services for $14 and hour with a two hour minimum. You could have a piece of SEO’d copy for 28 bucks! And she’s not the cheapest one on the page! There’s only one professional on there that values herself at a decent rate -$110/hour for some SEO-friendly dev. I have to tell you, out of all the people on there, I’d hire her because at least she’s taking her shit seriously. Though I still question whether or not she’s an SEO Rockstar.

So, I guess here’s what I’m getting at. If you’re looking to hire an SEO Rockstar, or SEO guru or whatever, they don’t work for friggin’ $10 an hour. They cost a whole helluva’ lot more than that. And for those of you looking to hire some sort of SEO expert, remember this – you get what you pay for. For those who claim they’re some sort of SEO Rockstar – if you have to tell me you’re one, and if you have to advertise the fact, more than likely you ain’t one. And at very least make sure you have some fucking name recognition.

6 Responses to “On SEO Rockstar-dom”

  1. Oliver Taco Says:

    Who wants to hire a rockstar? What are they gonna do, show up to your company. play for a few hours, strew trash everywhere and take all the pretty girls (or boys) away with them?

    How about: Experienced SEO Practitioner with 5 Years Experience Offers Introductory Rate.

    Not that I’d buy that, but at least it’s an understandable business offer.

    -OT

  2. Don't call me Sunshine Says:

    Must be some pretty washed up rock stars if they’re whoring themselves out for $50 an hour. I have this image in my head of an over-the-hill rocker riffing at some yuppie kids birthday party next to a a rent-a-petting-zoo.

  3. Rockstar SEO Says:

    Its more fun to hire a rockstar tho. especially when they can get the job done and party with you if you pay them enough

  4. SEO Rockstar Says:

    I attended the Party like a Search Engine Rockstar in 2007, and it rocked! Invaluable for the SEO knowledge I gained. Will there be another one this year? If so, I’m in! NO one does it like SEO Pubcon.
    — Sterling, Atlanta Rockstar

  5. Deshawn Ringold Says:

    Wow this is a naughty post about dominant ladies

  6. Brain Hungerford Says:

    I got really unbelivable pleased by this post! Post more about dommes!

Leave a Reply

