Vanessa Fox Leaves Google. I Eat a Burrito. Life Goes On.

As mentioned in my post about SMX Seattle, I noticed there was all sorts of male attention being paid to the Vanessa Fox person from Google by what appeared to be a motley crew of the balding, the lonely and the paunch bellied after she spoke in one of the session. It was like she was the Jenna Jameson of search or something. Or maybe the Mae West.

So, last week while my computer was taking the big shit, apparently she went and declared her leaving Google. I didn’t know jack about it until my buddy, Syzlack, gave me the news. See, believe it or not, this industry doesn’t get reported on the news. Amazing, huh? I was totally unaware until I get this IM basically saying, “Hey Dumbass! Where you been? You hear about Vanessa?”

My first reaction, was, “Wow! She left powerful overlords who see and know all the good folks at Google! Good on her! Way to stick it the Man! She must’ve found a wonderful opportunity. ” My second reaction was, “Hmmm.” My third reaction was, “Maybe today I shall work in the nude.” My fourth reaction was, “Nah, I hate it when my ass gets stuck to the leather on my chair. And I feel self-conscious.”

Anyways, after a while, I finally went and read her post. Then I got to thinking about what this might mean for the search industry. Here’s what I came up with:

1. Vanessa will finally be able to go to a frickin’ conference and eat her lunch.

2. Since she’s moving on to Zillow, there will be a sudden shift of interest to the real estate industry by the BLPB crew.

3. NO MORE LISTENING TO HER GO ON AND ON ABOUT BUFFY the fucking VAMPIRE SLAYER AT SEO CONFERENCES!!!!!!!!!!!! I mean, c’mon! There were way better shows out there! Discuss how getting banned is like FLCL or something! Or how it’s like maggots pouring out of the belly of a carcass. Or how it’s like waking up in a crappy hotel somewhere after a night of drinking cheap liquor and finding you bedded a homeless person. Just something more relevant to us!

4. The lack of Google attire on her back makes more sense.

5. Search boy geekdom will have to find a new girl to worship. I recommend this fine lady. Though I don’t know if there are any pics to back up her good-lookingness.

6. Unless Google finds another attractive spokeswoman, Yahoo! will suddenly become more relevant.

7. The rest of us will continue to not give a shit.

8 Responses to “Vanessa Fox Leaves Google. I Eat a Burrito. Life Goes On.”

  1. Vanessa Fox Says:

    It’s not always about Buffy. Sometimes I use examples from the Princess Bride.

  2. Syzlak Says:

    wait, how was the burrito?

  3. Agent 99 Says:

    While it is true that Vanessa is all that and a bag of chips, can she spell TICONDEROGA? (Aunt Mel doesn’t think so!)

  4. seohack Says:

    Vanessa Fox – Princess Bride?!?!?!!?!? Really???!!?!?!??! Ah man. Damn you, Vanessa! You’re gonna’ turn me into a friggin’ fan boy! Between the contents of your blog and then an appreciation for one of the greatest movies ever made . . . . .

    Syzlak – It was an awesome carne asada burrito, no guac but sour cream and pico de gallo. I hate guac. You can tell the quality of said burrito by the tenderness of the meat. Damn that was a good burrito. Thinking about it, and the fact I will never be able to enjoy that burrito again for the first time, brings sorrow to my heart. If only I had a time machine and could go back, steal the burrito and enjoy it again for a second first time. This was the kind of burrito that would make you get drunk with jealousy if you saw someone else eating it. This was the kind of burrito that you’d crawl over broken Zima bottles to get to. This is the kind of burrito you might name your children after, if it didn’t mean they’d all have the same name and get picked on in school.

    Agent 99 – Well, there’s a chance she’d have a Ticonderoga #2 close by (perhaps one of the best pencils EVER), and she is pretty sharp. Hmm, don’t know if I agree with Aunt Mel. After all, she digs the Princess Bride!!!!! She just might be a bag of chips and all that (yes, I butchered the phrase. But that’s what I do.). Ack! I’m turning into a fan boy!

  5. Vanessa Fox Says:

    It is indeed a fine movie. Did you see this post I did a while back?
    http://googlewebmastercentral.blogspot.com/2007/03/blogher-2007-building-your-audience.html
    😉

  6. Vanessa Fox Leaves Zillow. Syzlak Gets a Hair Cut. Life Goes On. « The Worst SEO Blog Ever! Says:

    […] she didn’t, but it’s fun to pretend she did, isn’t it?), my computer isn’t telling me to piss up a tree and I can actually follow the action! Okay, so there isn’t much action either. But those are […]

  7. 63 signs you’re addicted to Google and the Church of Search Says:

    […] think having Vanessa in that last item is stupid because everyone knows she left Google a while […]

  8. So are you addicted to Google? | SEO Training Says:

    […] think having Vanessa in that last item is stupid because everyone knows she left Google a while […]

Leave a Reply

