Tumblr Is Butt Rock, NOT Punk Rock!

I’m sorry, El Tigre, while I do like your blog thingy, I have to get this out there.  And I apologize for using you as the launching post for this tirade.  But as every belligerent asshole says, it’s not you, it’s them. You’re cool; you’re one of us.

El Tigre tried to esplain the Tumblr to me.  I still didn’t get it.  Maybe it was lack of alcohol coffee, maybe it was the sleep deprivation, but regardless, I didn’t get the Tumblr.  It was just another blogging format that apparently people were amped up about.  After I urged El Tigre to leave the cult, I halfway expected suicide bombers to be lining my driveway.

However, my concern has turned to annoyance.  Apparently, some jackass in Britishland the UK has wrote a stupid-assed article proclaiming “Tumblelogs are the punk rock of blogging.”  WHAT?!?!?!?!!?!  Seriously?  From where I’m sitting it’s less Joey Ramone and Johnny Rotten and more Nikki Sixx and Brett Michaels.   And if it is “punk rock”, it’s not the fucking punk rock of old but the new emo-shit that makes me want to kick the fuck out of every dipshit walking out of the Hot Topic wearing a fucking Fallout Boy t-shirt.

From what I can tell, formats and CMS’s like Tumblr are more or less like Twitter but with a more robust character allowance and pictures.  Don’t get me wrong – I like seeing the pictures.  And some of these people (such as El Tigre) are posting some interesting shit.  But I fail to see how it’s any different than any regular old blog. Seriously.

And the fucking article contradicts itself.  If “There’s no need for order, categories or taxonomies” then what the fuck is “Photos appear with a soft grey background, and quotes with an italic typeface. The varied content is matched by the visual design” about?  That looks like friggin’ order and classification to me.

As El Tigre also pointed out, this shit has gone mainstream.  Tumblr, and the rest of the tumblelogging platforms, aren’t punk rock.  It’s just more hipster douchebaggery pushing its value on us.  We recognize the value; telling us it’s valuable just makes it look cheap and overdone.  And in the end, it’s just a fucking blog!!!!!  I could do the same shit with the WordPress!  It’s like saying you’re punk rock only if you buy your fucking studded belt at Target (which I hear has some really reasonable prices for studded belts and Ramones t-shirts).

Anyways, the point of this post is the article is stupid and I don’t trust groups of people.

8 Responses to “Tumblr Is Butt Rock, NOT Punk Rock!”

  1. The Bagel of Everything Says:

    I blame HotTopic.

  2. seohack Says:

    i do too, bagel. i do too.

  3. The Bagel of Everything Says:

    Wait…

    Is ‘butt rock’ like crack?

  4. seohack Says:

    nah, it’s like what would be found in the crack, isn’t it?

    damn, didn’t realize there was a lot of thought going into when butt rock actually got it’s start.

    http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Butt+Rock

  5. The 'Goose Says:

    Man, you just kicked their ASSES! Are you sure you’re not wearing spandex right now?

  6. chvnx Says:

    Dude, tumblr is a crust punk’s heaven. There are so many lefty libtards on tumblr that the punk rock scene looks like playschool-anarchists compared. The cult of Obama runs deep through Tumblrs veins.

    There are real metal heads that use tumblr though, Free audio/video hosting and shit.

    Tumblr rules. I just made a new Tumblr theme and its available for download @ SkyLite.Tumblr.com.

    Come check it out and feel free to follow my tumble log @ chvnx.com

  7. Kendra Turja Says:

    Excellent blog for new dog lovers like me who want to learn about looking after their pet. There appears to be so much to learn that it is overwhelming, but sites like this really help. Cheers!

  8. Jen Says:

    the good thing about tumblr is there’s a lot of punks on it and they are easy to find by following the link thread to who has reblogged a pic/etc you’ve liked.
    you just gotta follow the people who post stufff you like and unfollow those that don’t, the punx will not be held accountable for other people posting other shit.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

